Here Come the Vikings! (an Introduction to My Series on Norse Myth)

Hey everyone!

Like I said in a previous post, I’m going to do a series of posts about Norse mythology. I’m not exactly sure how long it will be, probably as long as I can think of fun things to write about and you guys are interested in reading them. Come on though, it’s Norse myth! You’ve got gods, giants, goats that exude alcohol, and so much more! What’s not to love about that?

The posts will be posted once a week over the weekend, hopefully sometime on Friday, but definitely during the weekend. I will also post other content when I can, on different days than the posts about Norse myth, for those of you who don’t want to just learn about Norse myth for the next several weeks.

Much of what we now today about Norse myth comes from two literary sources, the Poetic Edda and the Prose Edda. Norse myths have been incredibly influential on fantasy literature, particularly in J.R.R. Tolkein’s The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings and The Simarillion, and as we will see in future posts Nordic religious customs and beliefs have wormed their way into several important places in modern society. You may be surprised about where some traditions originated.

It’s going to be fun, so stick around! The first post, this coming Friday will be on the cosmology. Specifically the foundation on which Norse myth stands, literally the glue that holds it all together: Yggdrasil, the World Tree that holds up the Nine Worlds. More on that subject on Friday though!

Have a great St. Patrick’s Day everyone, be safe, but have fun!

Matt

Note: As a disclaimer the content in my series, and most of the information I know about Norse myth, will come from John Lindow’s Norse Mythology: A Guide to the Gods, Heroes, Rituals, and Beliefs. It is a really good book for those who do not know a whole lot about Norse myth, but want to start learning because Lindow covers a wide range of subjects in an encyclopedia style format only in a very readable writing style. If you want to learn more about Norse myth, you can check him out, but there are other works out there on Norse myth. I’m definitely looking to expand my collection. No copyright infringement is intended. I just wanted to note this upfront.

Extra note: This is my fifteenth post! Huzzah for milestones! Thanks to everyone who is reading my posts and/or is following the blog. I can’t tell you how much it means to me.

About dmmaster42

I'm a fantasy/fiction/philosophical writer.
This entry was posted in Norse Myth and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Here Come the Vikings! (an Introduction to My Series on Norse Myth)

  1. And imagine how much fantasy literature has been affected in turn by the LOTR trilogy and companion books.

    • dmmaster42 says:

      It’s true. Norse myth has had a tremendous influence on most modern fantasy stories through Tolkien. Fantasy would be radically different without both of their influences.

  2. Pingback: The meanings of myth « Earthpages.org

  3. Pingback: Thunder God Thursday: Thor hits the funnybooks « As You Were

  4. Pingback: audio & lyrics: A real fantasy (“I’m Justified!”) « power of language blog: partnering with reality by JR Fibonacci

  5. Pingback: Norse mythology in comic books | As You Were

Leave a Reply

