A Belated Valentine’s Day Gift

Happy belated Valentine’s Day everyone!

Yes I know I’m a bit late, sorry. I have a rather long research paper and, of course, I had to celebrate Valentine’s Day with my girlfriend.

I have some mixed feelings about Valentine’s Day.

On the one hand, Valentine’s Day is a wonderful holiday that celebrates a wonderful emotion: love. On the other, it has been hijacked by the capitalist system to squeeze money out of people who think they have to buy their significant other gifts to make them happy. Trust me, if that’s true, you should not be celebrating Valentine’s Day with that person.

Also, why only one day a year for the celebration of love? Doesn’t love deserve at least two or three days? Doesn’t love deserve to be celebrated every day? Maybe it is by some people, but others seem to to think it should not be. There is more than one kind of love, my friends. Romantic love is great, but friendship and family love are just as important, perhaps even more important in the long run.

You are all my friends, my readers, and friendship is a necessary component to human life, at least for me. So thank you.

All human beings are brothers and sisters. We are all human. It’s important to remember that, and remember to love everyone, even those who do not love you back because they are the ones who need your love the most. Love the ones that no one else does, who live life without knowing love, because they deserve it the most. Every day should be Valentine’s Day (and I’m not trying to wiggle out of not posting on Valentine’s Day, promise)

As a thank you and a belated Valentine’s Day present for you writers out there who may need some inspiration and a kick in the pants to get going, I’m going to send you to a great site for writers. More specifically to the page that tells you how to download the site owner’s Writer’s Manifesto. Simply put, it is the best eye-opener I have ever read for getting started with my writing, and it’s short and to the point. So please check it out here: http://goinswriter.com/writers-manifesto/

This post was inspired by this post on a new blog, Pandemic Love: http://thelovepandemic.wordpress.com/2012/02/14/every-love-day-instead-of-valentines-day/

About dmmaster42

I'm a fantasy/fiction/philosophical writer.
This entry was posted in Love, Philosophy, Relationships, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

